Home

There are so many definitions of home; if you ask an adult they may say “where ever there is dinner every night” 

If you ask a child, “where ever my toys are”. 

My favorite definition is:

“Relaxed and comfortable; in harmony with the surroundings” 

This is more of the feeling rather than the noun. But I feel like this definition captivates it all. 

A home should be the place you cannot wait to return to.

My boyfriend (as you can see, I am going to be mentioning him a lot) he recently returned home. We have this thing that we do not call our houses “home”

Not because we are ungrateful for the roof over our heads, or because we are young and make things difficult. But it’s because of the definition. 

He loves his family more than anything on this earth, however, when he moved from the Dominican Republic to the United States, he was separated. He is not in harmony with his surroundings or relaxed and comfortable here in New York (and God knows he tried). He feels as if he always has to strain a smile. 

Why do I mention all this? 

It’s because he recently returned to DR (Dominican republic) aka home. And I can easily tell you I have not seen him that happy is such a long time. He was laughing and fighting with his younger siblings, ranting in Spanish (which I didn’t understand), and didn’t stop smiling once. 

That kind of leaves me wondering… where is my home? 

I used to think that it is wherever he is- and don’t get me wrong it still is. But he has a location, I’m more of a nomad. My mother lives in Arkansas with my little sister, my dad and I live with his wife and my two step sister and half brother, school used to be my home until I moved only 20 minutes away from it and switched schools…  I find myself not “Relaxed and comfortable; in harmony with the surroundings” around me. 

I know I’m not alone in this, being in my last couple years of highschool, I feel like I’m doing more searching than I have before. I’m trying to figure out who I am. Before I was so certain I am a child of God (I still am most importantly and primarily) But I think there is more to me. 

And for some reason I feel like when I find it, I’ll finally be home. 

LET ME KNOW WHERE YOUR HOME IS IN THE COMMENTS:))

Leave a Reply

